Jul 16th, 2021

Google tracks a lot of things about us and what we do on the internet, especially our search history since Google is the default and defacto search engine for many users. The company already has tools to help delete things like location history and activity data, and now it looks like they’ll be further expanding on that.

In an announcement made on their blog, Google has announced that they have started to roll out a new privacy option in the Google app for smartphones. This new privacy option will let users delete the last 15 minutes of their search and app activity from their mobile device. This might come in handy if you’re lending somebody your device and you don’t want them to accidentally stumble across your search history.

Like we said, at the moment Google has tools that lets users automatically delete their data, but this is set at 3 months, 18 months, and 36 month intervals. This is fine if you know that no one else will see your data, but now this option at least lets you scrub some of the more recent data.

Unfortunately, at the moment the new feature is only available on the iOS version of the Google app, but Google says that they will be bringing the feature over to Android later this year, so keep an eye out for it.

Source: Google

local_offer    Google   privacy