Jun 28th, 2019

Back in May, Google announced that they would be rolling out a feature that would let users automatically delete data the company collects on them. Previously, users would have to manually delete this data and sometimes users might forget. For those who have been looking forward to this feature, you’ll be pleased to learn that it is now rolling out to all users.

What this means is that users will be able to set it so that every few months, the data collected on them by Google will be deleted automatically without the user having to do anything on their end. The auto-deletion feature will cover the likes of Location History and also activity data.

Note that at the moment, users can only set a minimum of 3 months before their data gets deleted. This means that if you want to delete your data on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis, you’ll still have to do it manually. To set-up auto-delete:

  1. Go to the Data & Personalization page on Google’s website.
  2. Select either Web & App Activity or Location History
  3. Click Manage Activity
  4. Click on Choose to delete automatically
  5. Choose either between 3 months or 18 months
  6. Click Next
  7. Click Confirm, and you’re good to go.

Google also notes that this can be accessed via mobile using the Google app on your phone, and the process is more or less the same.

local_offer    Google   privacy