Aug 8th, 2022

Sometimes in our haste to send a message or photo, we might end up selecting the wrong person. This can be embarrassing in some situations, or even dangerous where you might send something to someone that could result in leaked information, getting someone else in trouble, or even getting you fired.

Thankfully, being able to unsend and delete text messages after they’ve been sent has become a pretty common feature for most messaging apps, such as WhatsApp which allows users to delete messages after they have been sent. If you’re wondering how you might be able to make use of this feature, then read on to find out.

Unsend and delete WhatsApp messages

  1. Launch WhatsApp
  2. Go to the individual or group chat that you want to unsend a message
  3. Tap and hold on the message
  4. Tap Delete
  5. Tap “Delete For Everyone” to unsend a message

Now, there are certain things to take note of and remember when unsending and deleting WhatsApp text messages. For starters, you have a timeframe before a message cannot be unsent. It used to be an hour, but WhatsApp recently changed it to 2 days.

Also, all the users involved in the unsending of the message need to be on the latest version of WhatsApp. If a user has an older version of the app that doesn’t support unsending, then it won’t work.

Another thing is that users will usually see that a message has been deleted, so they will know when it has been unsent. Whether or not they see its contents beforehand is a different story because if they’re quick enough, they might notice it in their notifications or they might have already opened the message, so that’s something to take note of.

Related articles

local_offer    WhatsApp