Apr 26th, 2022

Twitter is one of the leading social media platforms. It is a single destination for receiving the latest news, checking out memes, and listening to people’s opinions on all sorts of topics. But like any other social media, it can prove to be overwhelming, addicting, and even toxic at times.

These are some of the reasons that can make you think about how you can deactivate and delete your Twitter account. Another reason making people consider quitting Twitter is the news of Elon Musk’s acquisition of the platform. It has led to people questioning the future of the platform, especially in the context of free speech.

The first step to deleting your Twitter account is deactivating it. This is because the platform does not offer a direct deletion option. You need to deactivate the account for a specific period of time only after which it will be deleted. It is advised that you download a copy of your Twitter data before you actually deactivate or delete the account.

Deactivate Twitter account using browser:

  1. Log in to your Twitter account on your preferred web browser.
  2. Click More on the left sidebar.

  3. Click Settings and privacy from the list of options.

  4. Within Your account settings, click Deactivate your account option.

  5. It will show you details about what deactivating means. Click the Deactivate button at the bottom and enter your account password to confirm the choice.

Deactivate Twitter account using app:

  1. Launch the Twitter app and tap on your profile picture in the top left corner.
  2. Tap Settings and privacy in the menu on the left side.
  3. Tap Your account followed by Deactivate Account.
  4. Tap Deactivate at the bottom of the page and enter your password to confirm.

This way, you can deactivate your Twitter account which will stay that way for the next 30 days. The account can be reactivated by logging into your account anytime before the 30-day window expires.

It is important to note that your account data does not get deleted during the deactivation period. Your account and related data will get deleted permanently only if the account stays deactivated during the window.

stars Further Reading