Google breaks down more language barriers with 10 new Google Translate languages



More and more, it’s becoming difficult to say it’s impossible to communicate with people who don’t speak the same language. While internet translation services aren’t perfect, they do a well enough job that makes it possible to understand the words of pretty much any language you don’t understand.

Google’s doing its part to knock down even more barriers than they already have as the company has added 10 new languages to Google Translate. The additions brings translation for 200 million folks whose languages were not already represented. Here’s the full list of new additions:

  • Chichewa, spoken by people in Malawi
  • Malagasy, spoken by people in Madagascar
  • Sesotho, spoken by people of Lesotho and one of the national languages of South Africa
  • Malayalam, a classical language of India
  • Myanmar, spoken by people of Myanmar
  • Sinhala, spoken by people of Sri Lanka
  • Sundanese, spoken by people of the island of Java in Indonesia
  • Kazakh, spoken by people of Kazakhstan
  • Tajik, spoken by people of Tajikistan
  • Uzbek, spoken by people of Uzbekistan

The languages are already loaded up and ready for your use over at Google Translate so keep that in mind should you happen to come across some of these languages in your daily musings.

[via Google]

Quentyn Kennemer
The "Google Phone" sounded too awesome to pass up, so I bought a G1. The rest is history. And yes, I know my name isn't Wilson.

Hulu gives Android users exclusive free access to current season of shows via their Android app

Previous article

T-Mobile Nexus 9 with LTE now available for purchase [UPDATE: Also works with AT&T]

Next article

You may also like


  1. And yet Klingon, Elvish, and Dothraki are still missing…

  2. Erm…
    “Malayalam, a classical language of India” should read “Malayalam, spoken by people in the State Of Kerala in India”

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *