11 Motorola Android Phones officially getting the Marshmallow Update


Motorola has made an official statement on Android 6.0 Marshmallow and in the process, included a list of 11 Android Phones that they’ll updgrade to Marshmallow.

  • 2015 Moto X Pure Edition (3rd gen)
  • 2015 Moto X Style (3rd gen)
  • 2015 Moto X Play
  • 2015 Moto G (3rd gen)
  • 2014 Moto X Pure Edition in the US (2nd gen)
  • 2014 Moto X in Latin America, Europe and Asia (2nd gen)
  • 2014 Moto G and Moto G with 4G LTE (2nd gen)
  • DROID Turbo
  • 2014 Moto MAXX
  • 2014 Moto Turbo
  • Nexus 6

Is your Moto listed? Keep in mind that they’ve mentioned this could change, so don’t consider this a promise but instead a guideline.

Where did my Moto Features Go?

Motorola Marshmallow

Motorola is also using this moment to announce that some features you’ve grown to love have reached end-of-life status. Most noticeable is Moto Assist, which essentially included a “Do Not Disturb” Mode. The reason for this is that Android Marshmallow has comparable alternatives and Motorola doesn’t want to shove redundant features down your throat in the name of proprietary control.

For this, we’ve really got to applaud Motorola. Google released features that made their offerings somewhat obsolete and rather than having them pried from their cold dead hands (as many carriers and manufacturers would insist), they willingly let the caged bird fly. Considering how hard their team worked to build and promote these features, and have useful and successful they were, that couldn’t have been easy.

But they did it. Another example of Motorola doing the right thing for consumers in the Android space. For more, read their full blog post.

Rob Jackson
I'm an Android and Tech lover, but first and foremost I consider myself a creative thinker and entrepreneurial spirit with a passion for ideas of all sizes. I'm a sports lover who cheers for the Orange (College), Ravens (NFL), (Orioles), and Yankees (long story). I live in Baltimore and wear it on my sleeve, with an Under Armour logo. I also love traveling... where do you want to go?

The Samsung Gear S2 is now available for purchase in the United States

Previous article

Sprint might have to cut jobs in a plan to save $2.5 billion

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in News