Feb, 12 2010

Traditional mobile carriers and VoIP services haven’t really mixed in the past. Verizon Wireless, until their adoption of Android, had been considered one of the most “closed” carriers on the planet. Google Voice was a ray of hope that still hasn’t caught on with the masses but wait… what do we have here?

Verizon and Skype are hosting a Joint Press Conference at Mobile World Congress in Barcelona. Tuesday, February 16th at 11:15am EST – mark it on your calendar.You can also call in and listen to the event live if it has you all giddy – nice little option!

We’re not sure EXACTLY what they’ll announce but just because its Verizon and Skype you can venture a guess that probably wouldn’t be too far off. And if they announce a new Skype app/service for Verizon Android Phones I would be ELATED because the current app is sub par at best. They’ll probably announce a merger followed by a headquarter move to Scandinavia:


Not funny? Fine… then what do you think they’ll announce? Any Android implications?

The Who/What/When/Where:

Verizon Wireless, the leading wireless provider in the United States, and Skype, the software that enables the world’s conversations

Verizon Wireless and Skype will hold a news conference during the 2010 Mobile World Congress in Barcelona. Speakers will include:

  • John Stratton, executive vice president and chief marketing officer, Verizon Wireless
  • Josh Silverman, chief executive officer, Skype

GSMA Media Centre, Hall 2.1, Press Conference Room 3
Fira de Barcelona
Av. Reina Maria Cristina, s/n, 08004
Barcelona, Spain

To listen to a teleconference of the news conference, participants may call:
877-883-4690 (toll free within the U.S. and Canada)
+1 706-758-5386 (international)
Conference ID: 57101247

5:15 p.m. CET (11:15 a.m. EST / 8:15 a.m. PST) on Tuesday, February 16, 2010

local_offer    Verizon