The ability to unsend or delete a message after it has been sent is something we’re seeing in many messenger apps and platforms these days. Usually there is an indication of when a message was unsent or deleted, and for those who rely on Google Chat, you’ll be happy to learn that the feature is coming to the platform as well.
In an announcement on the Google Workspace Blog, Google has revealed that whenever a user deletes a message in an unthreaded Google Chat Space, a message will be shown to show that the message was deleted by the sender. This will apply to both messages and also replies. According to Google:
“Now when a user deletes a message in an unthreaded Google Chat Space, a message and timestamp will be added to the conversation indicating the deletion. When a message has been deleted, both the content and the replies are deleted.
When a reply is deleted, only that reply and responses to it are removed.”
We’re not sure why it took Google this long to introduce such a basic feature when everyone else was doing it already, but we suppose it’s better late than never. The feature should already be rolled out for all Workspace, G Suite Basic, and G Suite Business users, but if you don’t see it yet, Google notes that it can take up to 15 days before it becomes widely available, so don’t fret.