Jun 25th, 2020

Google is great at making suggestions, especially on YouTube where based on the videos you’ve watched, the video platform will be able to suggest other similar videos you might be interested in. This is great if you’re looking for suggestions, but what if you were just doing some research and don’t want to mess up your suggested videos?

That’s where incognito mode comes in, but in case you didn’t know about it, Google wants to fix that problem. The company has announced that they will be updating its apps in which it will be easier for users to enable incognito mode where all they’ll need to do is long-press on their profile photo usually located at the top right corner of the screen, and they will be sent into incognito mode instantly.

You will know that you’ve enabled the feature where the screen will go dark and your profile photo is replaced with the incognito mode icon. This means that as long as you browse in incognito mode, your search and browsing history will not be kept, and it will also influence your suggested videos when you’re watching YouTube.

Note that incognito mode doesn’t mean that you are no longer being tracked by other entities such as your ISP (you will need a VPN for that), but like we said, if you’d rather not have certain searches and browsing activity be stored on your computer, then incognito mode will come in handy.

Google is also said to be working on making incognito mode applicable across apps, meaning that as long as you’re in incognito mode on one of Google’s apps, you should stay that way when switching to other apps. These changes are expected to be rolled out in the near future, so keep an eye out for them.

Source: 9to5Google

local_offer    Google   Google Search   youtube  

stars Further Reading