Jan 13th, 2021

If you thought there was going to be a lull in the smartphone market this early in the year, you’ll have to think again. Samsung is changing up its release schedule, bringing us the Galaxy S21 lineup in January, instead of waiting another month or two.

As is the case with every other major phone launch, there are two primary sites that you can go to check out Samsung’s latest handsets. The company will be making its announcement through YouTube and on Samsung.com. However, in 2021, there are even more ways to watch.

For those who want to be a bit more trendy, or just don’t want to go through YouTube or Samsung’s website, you are in luck. The event will also be live-streamed on Samsung’s Facebook and Instagram pages, which are already live with a countdown in AR. But wait! There’s more! Samsung will ALSO be live-streaming the event from Reddit, Twitch, and even on TikTok. This gives you plenty of ways to watch, regardless of which service you want to use.

If you’re wondering exactly what time the launch event will commence based on your area, here’s a breakdown of the start time for your local time zone:

  • UK: 14:00 on Thursday, January 14, 2021
  • New York: 10:00 AM on Thursday, January 14, 2021
  • Chicago: 09:00 AM on Thursday, January 14, 2021
  • LA: 07:00 AM on Thursday, January 14, 2021
  • Central Europe: 15:00 on Thursday, January 14, 2021
  • India: 19:30 on Thursday, January 14, 2021
  • Beijing: 22:00 on Thursday, January 14, 2021
  • Sydney: 01:00 AM on Friday, January 15, 2021

So what can we expect from this announcement? Well, the most obvious announcements will be regarding the next flagship smartphones. The Galaxy S21, S21 Plus, and S21 Ultra will be making their official debut, after being featured in leaks and rumors for the last few months. These will feature the top-of-the-line specs, including Qualcomm’s latest Snapdragon 888 chipset for most markets, with other select markets seeing the new Exynos 2100 chipset.

The fun doesn’t stop there, though, as we are also expecting to get some new headphones in the form of the Galaxy Buds Pro. These could be the true AirPods Pro successor, but we’ll have to wait and see what Samsung has in store. Rumors are also swirling around the potential launch of Samsung’s Tile competitor in the Galaxy Smart Tag.

Let us know what you’re most excited to see at Unpacked 2021 in the comments!

stars Further Reading