Dec 14th, 2020

Yesterday, Snapchat began rolling out a new feature to the app called Moments. It seemed like a simple enough concept — a gallery of your Snaps and Stories backed up to your Snapchat account — but people fear change, especially when it’s something they’re already so familiar with. It can be a bit… unsettling. Needless to say, there were a lot of questions and Snapchat’s initial blog post didn’t answer very many of them, something you wouldn’t be able to truly grasp until you actually played around with it.

With the update now rolling out to most users, we thought it’d be good to walk you through Memories, exploring all the steps on how it works, what it is, what it isn’t, and even some of the options available for it. Let’s get started.

Snapchat Memories DSC00407

Really, the core behavior of Snapchat isn’t changing much if at all. Snaps are still timed and it’s possible to continue using Snapchat without ever once trying out Memories and everything will be the same as it always was. That being said, Memories is a convenient new feature more or less geared toward those who hate having to remind themselves to backup the awesome Snaps and Stories they’ve created for later viewing or sharing.

Because your Memories are tied to your Snapchat account and backed up to the cloud, they’ll follow you around wherever you login into the app — no matter which device you’re using. Pretty helpful in the event your phone gets lost or stolen. It’s a lot like Google Photos only exclusively for Snaps.

While Snapchat doesn’t force you to use Memories, choosing to save your Snaps to Memories does offer other benefits outside of cloud backup. For instance, being able to re-upload old Snaps or create new Stories by mix and matching old Snaps or even media you already have saved on your device. You can also compile and send entire Stories directly to your friends, something you couldn’t do before.

local_offer    Snapchat  

stars Further Reading