Google Translate’s WordLens feature gets 20 new languages


translate word lens thumb

Google today announced a vast improvement to Google Translate. The biggest news is that the company’s WordLens feature, which allows you to view real-word words through your phone’s camera and have them automatically translated, now features 20 new languages. That brings us up to 27 languages that you can translate to and from English:

  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Portuguese
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Bulgarian
  • Catalan
  • Croatian
  • Czech
  • Danish
  • Dutch
  • Filipino
  • Finnish
  • Hungarian
  • Indonesian
  • Lithuanian
  • Norwegian
  • Polish
  • Romanian
  • Slovak
  • Swedish
  • Turkish
  • Ukrainian

Setting the language you want to translate is as simple as heading to the Google Translate app and pressing the camera button. Google also says they’ve vastly improved the speed at which translated conversations take place, so you can cut down on those awkward pauses while waiting for the data to be processed. The improvement was made on the data transfer side of things, so this will be especially beneficial for those who aren’t on the strongest or fastest of mobile networks.

Google Play has the goods for you right here so be sure to give it a try if you find yourself needing to translate words often.

[via Google]

Quentyn Kennemer
The "Google Phone" sounded too awesome to pass up, so I bought a G1. The rest is history. And yes, I know my name isn't Wilson.

Deals: Make your next road trip even better with these great car accessories

Previous article

Boxer Calendar to Replace Google Calendar on Cyanogen OS v12.1

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Apps