Shared albums have finally arrived to Google Photos. Google announced the change today, and it’s simple: you make an album on Google Photos, and you can choose to share it with anyone you want (whether that’s through a shareable link or an email invitation).
Those with access to the album can not only view photos, but also upload photo and video of their own. Participants can download photos to their local devices, and anytime a photo is added to the album all participants will receive a notification about it.
This effectively transforms the service from a simple photos dump to a slow-building social tool, and it should be a killer feature that’ll help drive adoption even further. The changes are headed out on the web, Android and iOS today so be on the lookout for updates.