Jul, 22 2014

oneplus one styleswap bamboo

Some pretty big news has rolled out of the OnePlus camp this morning. For starters, they’ve unveiled their new Bamboo StyleSwap Cover. If you don’t remember, StyleSwap allows you to customize the backplate of your phone and they aren’t just for show. Bamboo, for instance, will feature a nice smooth surface and a woody design. They’ll also have kevlar backings made out of actual kevlar, and a denim option has been confirmed, as well.

The Bamboo option will be here by the end of August says OnePlus, and you’ll need to pay $50 if you want one. That’s pretty steep for half a case, but they have to make money somehow because they are certainly taking a loss on the phones themselves. And if you didn’t get the color you wanted at launch, you’ll be happy to know that the Sandstone Black and Silk White covers will be available for $30 each.

The second bit of news is even more exciting — more invites! If you haven’t already grown tired of the OnePlus One invite circus show, you’ll be happy to know that they have over 5,000 on tap in the coming days. Here’s what you need to do to enter for one:

  1. Go to the contest page: http://oneplus.net/blizzard-of-invites
  2. Log in with your email or Facebook account.
  3. Perform at least one of the listed actions before the deadline.

The contest closes tomorrow, July 23rd, at 9:15PM CST/3:15PM CET/9:15AM EDT/6:15AM PDT, so you should have plenty of time to enter if you’re interested in one. We’re not sure how large demand still is for these things, but 5,000 seems to give you way better odds than the 100 invite contests they were doing before. Let us know if you’ll be trying for one of your own.

[via OnePlus 1|2]

local_offer    OnePlus  OnePlus One